Do you like what you see? Rate me!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
THE PENCOPAL PROJECT

2004-09-13 - 11:01 a.m.

ONE ALBUM WONDERS

Citizen Cope�s new album is out, and I�m totally digging it. I liked his music from the first time I heard it, opening for Nelly Furtado a few years ago (yes, I succumbed to �I�m like a bird�). He was a slightly dirty looking dude on a stool, armed only with an acoustic guitar. Most of the audience talked through his first few songs, but by the fourth song the only thing you could hear was his voice: a kind of melancholy, lamenting, powerful force. Each one of his songs was a well-told story set to folk-funk music. Hot. I loved it, bought the CD, and waited for him to blow up. But it never happened. Now he�s on another label and his new album just dropped. Go buy it. If you live in Philly, he�s playing at the Tin Angel on Wednesday. While he�s dropping that funk on your ass, I�ll be giving a presentation on the theories of writing. Yay.

Also at Best Buy, The Honey bought the new Danzig. After looking at the song titles, I asked him if he had some sort of relationship with Satan. He said no, but after he fell asleep I meticulously checked his body for the mark of a pitchfork, a hoof, or a 666. Kidding (sort of).

I also picked up TV on the Radio. Fuck you, I know I�m late on that one. I only listened to half of it, but I�m hooked. It�s definitely something different. I just hate getting into a band that I really dig, only to have the first album be the last. I mean, am I the only one who looked forward to the next offering from Res? Did anyone else yearn to hear Rosey�s follow-up? I�ll admit, I even fell for that white version of Maxwell, Remy Shand. That shit�s all from two years ago, so I�ve given up on hearing more from them. Now I fear for Toby Lightman, who released a cover of Mary J. Blige�s �Real Love� rather than one of the more poignant, original songs from her album. And where�s the next CD from Damien Rice? I felt ripped off when I saw he�d released a B-sides, with three different versions of the same song and four new ones.

Oh well. At least The Mars Volta have a new album coming out, �Frances the Mute.� Can�t wait.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!