Do you like what you see? Rate me!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
THE PENCOPAL PROJECT

2004-05-18 - 12:14 p.m.

Why did Lenny Kravitz perm his hair? To get to the other side.

Seriously though, what the fuck? The only thing sexier than that huge afro he used to rock was the long, thick dreads he rocked during the Lisa Bonet era. And now, like me, he�ll have to travel to the salon every six weeks to get his hair relaxed again. Blech.

He was on Stern this morning and Robin told him the ixnay on the ermpay. I wholeheartedly, hypocritically agree. I think I�m mad at him because to me, he was in the mostly white world of rock and he said, here�s my afro, hope you don�t like it. I dug his statement because I don�t have the guts to do it. Out of the hundreds of people in this office, four of us are black. If I were to walk into this bitch with a giant afro, it would raise more than a few eyebrows. I made the decision to raise eyebrows with the high quality of my work, rather than my hair, but at times I regret that decision. Constantly putting this chemical shit in my hair, making it straight so that it mimics a Caucasian culture to which I don�t belong. I wish I had the stones to walk in here with a huge, Angela Davis style afro, and scare the shit out of my boss. My first week here we had to entertain a bunch of kids with a �grammar rap.� The bitch looks at me and says, �This shouldn�t be hard for you.� I asked her why, her face turned mottled red, and she said, oh, because you�re young. But she and I both know she didn�t say that because I was young. Perhaps if I�d had an afro, the bitch would�ve asked me to beat box.

I wonder what Lenny�s motivation was? His new album, Baptism, dropped today, and he seems to flaunt a new look for each album. Perhaps this time he thought, "A relaxer would RAWK!" Not so much. If his hair is any indication, this album�s going to suck. The last one had five good songs and the rest was regurgitated bullshit. Perhaps fucking frigid bitches like Nicole Kidman is ruining his mojo. These days, he�s less Jimi Hendrix throwback and more guy who looks good in sunglasses while holding a guitar.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!