Do you like what you see? Rate me!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
THE PENCOPAL PROJECT

2004-08-23 - 10:45 a.m.

STOP WHAT YOU�RE DOING

�Cause I�m about to ruin, the image and the style that you�re used to. I look funny, but yo, I�m making money, see�

Sorry, got carried away. The Humpty Dance is an insidious monster that worms its way into my head every time I write �stop what you�re doing.� Or should it be "doin'"? Whatever. I meant to write, stop what you�re doing and go see Garden State. If a movie could be a person, I�d have fallen in love with someone other than The Honey this weekend. It�s the perfect film for those of us transitioning from our 20s into our 30s. And Garden State�s soundtrack was like an additional character whose contribution was just as important as Zach Braff's and Natalie Portman's. I went to 8 fucking stores to buy it this weekend, but since I was in fucking New Jersey all of the stores were sold out. Like a junkie, I flipped through the G section of �Shows� in Barnes and Noble (shouldn�t it be soundtracks/shows?), searching in vain for my fix. A khaki-laden employee stared at me sympathetically.

�You�re looking for the Garden State soundtrack, aren�t you?�

�Yes,� I replied, embarrassed that my frantic search had attracted attention.

�We�ve been sold out for a week, and we�re not sure when new ones are coming in,� he told me, touching my arm as if the news would make my knees buckle.

A single tear fell down my cheek, and the employee whipped a Dixie cup out of his pocket and caught my tear.

Okay so maybe I stole that last line from the movie. But I was that freak you�ve seen in a music store, searching for a record as if her life depended on it. I�ve laughed at that girl before, but now that I�ve worn her shoes, I�ll never laugh again.

READ, AND READING

Just finished reading this, and this. I highly recommend both, because unless you�ve experienced being Chinese during the re-education, or being an autistic teenage sleuth, these books will take you places you�ve never been. Moving on to this book next.

EVERYONE'S AN ASSHOLE

This swift boat controversy is pretty fucked up. The Washington Post believes both sides could be more forthcoming, since both Kerry's people and the Pro-Bush swift boat people are withholding information.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!