Do you like what you see? Rate me!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
THE PENCOPAL PROJECT

2004-07-29 - 11:05 a.m.

SCHOOL IS OUT

I have 9 graduate credits. God, that sounds hot. For a girl who started in January, that ain�t too shabby. Though I fear this last class might ruin my straight A status with a lowly B+, it�s all good baby. That was the lesson from the universe this session: You can�t always be the star. It was a humbling lesson to learn, one that I seem to relearn every few years. In my other classes, I was invested in the material and the professors constantly praised my work. Pencopal�s head is already slightly inflated, what with her cappuccino mountains of delight and her sparkling personality, but after the last class it�s a wonder my head fit through the door. With this class it was all, see that guy over there, yeah, he�s a lot smarter than you, see that girl, she writes better than you, she that guy, he�s more eloquent than you. I find humbling experiences to be painful, yet useful.

I plan to channel that energy into revisiting my book, Ascending Ariya. I�ve given it enough of a breather that I should be able to view it with fresh eyes. I want to make some solid changes before I start sending it out again. I might change the tone a little. One thing I learned this semester was the importance of balance. At times I think the main character of my book is in PAIN and it HURTS and she�s trying to GROW and experience a SPIRITUAL AWAKENING! Maybe it would read better if I kicked it down a notch. Who knows? But with each rejection letter, that $499 Borders self-publishing jammy is starting to look more and more appealing.

But enough about me. Let�s talk about TV. There will be no edifying content on this page for the next few days. This vacation from school translates to an indulgence in all things mindless. Did you watch Amish in the City last night? I was riveted. I�ve never seen an Amish person outside of the Pennsylvania Dutch Market, and you�re only in line long enough to stare for but a minute until you get some of those tasty baked goods. This show was fascinating. They have these wacky accents, kind of like a cross between the Dutch character in Goldmember and someone with a really bad speech impediment (Isn�t that vierd? I�ve been thinking about that movie a lot lately. We went to the Phila. Museum of Art on Sunday, and one room was filled with gold accents. I walked in and said, I like goooooooooooooooold. Only my friends appreciated the humor in my exclamation). They cried when they went to the beach because they�d never seen the ocean, never felt the sand between their toes. It might all be hammed up for television, but it�s interesting to watch these fish out of water.

ENDNOTE

�Do you know any Spanish, Pencopal?� asked my roommate�s boyfriend.

�Besame me chocha,� I replied, probably getting it wrong, but not caring.

�What does that mean?�

�Eat my pussy.�

�You would know how to say that in Spanish,� said my roommate.

I smiled. �Shee-it. Any girl worth her salt knows how to say that in every language.�

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!