Do you like what you see? Rate me!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
THE PENCOPAL PROJECT

2004-06-01 - 1:41 p.m.

A VASECTOMY COULD�VE SOLVED THIS PROBLEM

An article in today�s NYT tells the sad story of a Las Vegas family court judge whose daughter is now part of the population on which he passes judgment. It�s basically the movie �Traffic,� minus Michael Douglas, plus Las Vegas, multiplied the New York Times' rose colored glasses. The poor judge gives his high school-aged daughter a car and some money (which she�ll use to score drugs), lets her boyfriend move in (and share her bed), and does both of their laundry. The only gratitude the shithead boyfriend can muster up: �I think he shrinks my clothes.� It made me wonder, are my dad and my boyfriend the only two men in this country who still have possession of their balls? This judge�s sack is obviously defunct, or he�d kick the shithead out on his ass and take his daughter to the first shrink he could find.

The funny thing about the article is that everyone seems resigned to it. The parents hope she�ll come around, the girl hopes she�ll grow up to be a lawyer like her parents, but none of the parties are doing anything to transform these hopes into realities. The parents blame Las Vegas, the daughter blames the parents, and everything remains the same. A prevailing sense of impotence permeates the article; no one can get it up long enough to really change.

Note to NYT editors: give me an article describing how an "everyman" type keeps his kids out of trouble, rather than writing about these rich fucks, with every resource available to them, who can't get their shit together.

**As you were having fun and getting trashed this weekend, I was reading "Great Expectations." While I'm banging out three credits in five weeks, The Pencopal Project will most likely be shorter and bitchier. Kind of like its author.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!