Do you like what you see? Rate me!

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
THE PENCOPAL PROJECT

2004-05-11 - 4:51 p.m.

I wanna dance hall dance every day

I WANNA DANCE HALL, DANCE HALL, EVERYDAY!

Sorry, needed to get that out of my system. GodDAMN Modest Mouse�s latest is the greatest. I just bought that shit and I can�t stop listening to it. I heard Death Cab for Cutie�s latest was good, but I bought it and I think I accidentally purchased some emo shit. It�s kind of whiny and one entire song�s an analogy about a glove box. Methinks it�ll end up at the bottom of my CD tower marked �Use for background music when writing shitty poetry.�

Listening to the Polyphonic Spree while in an altered state is a great way to pass a Sunday night when there�s no new episode of Alias. Seriously. Pack your bowl and try it.

Everyone�s talking about Loretta Lynn�s Jack White produced album. Even the New York Times had an article. It bored me, so I took the liberty of writing new questions and borrowing some direct quotes for answers. If you don�t like this dirty version, feel free to check out the original article at nytimes.com.

What�s old and country with White Stripes all over it?

By The Pencopal Project

NASHVILLE�Jack White of the White Stripes produced Loretta Lynn�s new album, Van Lear Rose. The shit is still country. We don�t give a fuck if the goddamned godfather of soul, James Brown, produced it. We heard a few tracks, and it�s alright, if you like that sort of thing. But country infused rock and roll is still country. We caught up with White and Lynn, discussing their collaboration, which apparently went beyond the album.

PENCOPAL: What were you thinking the night after you bared your naked body to Jack White?

LORETTA LYNN: I thought, "My God, did Jack see this?"

JACK WHITE: I thought it was perfect, Loretta.

LYNN: You did?

WHITE: Yeah, I thought, "This is like a home."

PENCOPAL: How sweet. Loretta, what do you say when people question the awesome power of your love?

LYNN: It's not a gimmick. Jack and I are going to do �em together.

PENCOPAL: Jack, how did this romance start for you?

WHITE: Loretta said, "I like a really strong bass drum." So [I] came up with [a nasty] rhythm and Loretta said, "I like that." Then we all joined in.

PENCOPAL: So your love began with an orgy? Did you use protection?

LYNN: We didn't have any.

PENCOPAL: Jack, you dirty boy. Didn�t you want to protect Ms. Lynn from leftover Zellweger?

WHITE: My respect level for her is off the chart, so when [it] popped up, I'd say: "What do you think?�

PENCOPAL: Ms. Lynn, what do you have to say for yourself?

LYNN: (shakes head sheepishly) That's how stupid I was.

PENCOPAL: Is this a long-term liaison, or just a hit and run?

WHITE: I could go on, but . . .

LYNN: That's O.K., Jack. I'm enjoying it.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!